Ever Missed The Ship?

Figsgrandma

This may seem like an odd question, but has anyone ever returned late from a land excursion and missed the ship? Maybe my question is just a sign that I'm a novice cruiser (only been on one, which I expect will not be my last), but I can just picture myself standing on the dock, waving goodby to all the other passengers, as my ship pulls out of port, because my excursion got delayed and I didn't get back in time. If this did happen to you, what did you do?

Well it hasn't happend to me (knock wood) cause I'm always late but I've only ever done the excursions that the ship offers. That way if it's running late, they will wait for you. If you venture on your own which I'm going to be doing in Belize, then you take your chances... I would say if you're going to venture out on your own - go as early as possible and give yourself plenty of time to get back just in case something does delay your return. Also, bring your passport (or other ID) with you when you leave the ship - just in case! And another thing - Don't be late! :p Have fun!!!!!!!

Travel insurance will cover "catch up" transportation -- transportation to catch up with the ship should you miss it. The alternative to travel insurance is to pay for those costs yourself, should you miss the ship.

What I've read on these boards is that the cruise ship will wait for passengers who pay for its own excursions, but not for passengers who go on independent excursions or go on their own.

Travel insurance will cover "catch up" transportation -- transportation to catch up with the ship should you miss it. The alternative to travel insurance is to pay for those costs yourself, should you miss the ship.

What I've read on these boards is that the cruise ship will wait for passengers who pay for its own excursions, but not for passengers who go on independent excursions or go on their own.

Thanks Bicker - I have ins. but didn't know that was covered - good to know though!