Pros/cons to buying in advance or last minute

I'm a newbie to cruising, leaving on my first one to Alaska next week. I booked our cruise (7 of us) back a few months ago RT Seattle w/Glacier Bay on Princess. It was $1059 pp inside w/$150 OBC. Now I see other offers for as low as $400 pp:mad:. Did I do the right thing by locking it in so far in advance? With 7 of us I was nervous about getting enough rooms for all of us and flights together. I did save a little on airfare to Seattle from NY but not much. Our cruise is now all sold out. I'm already thinking of a cruise to Europe for next year but thinking maybe I'm better off waiting to the last minute? I have some flexibility to when I leave, pretty much all of July and August. Next time I travel it probably won't be with so many of us either.

Commonly discussed here on Cruise Critic. Yes, you can get some good deals on last minute deals, if you are not picky about cabin location, level or type. Trying to get several cabins (for 7 people) is going to be harder. If you insist on waiting until the last minute on a particularly sailing, to meet vacation schedules, you might find yourself with NO availability, and therefore, no vacation.

Last minute airfares can take big bites out of savings on the cruise fare.

Trying to get enough cabins for 7 people, along with airfare, and perhaps hotels (if needed) can be tricky.

Are we comparing apples and oranges with your $1059 vs $400 info? Same cabin type and location? Of course, with a $150 OBC, if that is per person as well, you only really paid $900.

Wise advice given here frequently: comparing fares on board is in poor form.

Edited by CruiserBruce

When I travel again next summer, it will be just myself and my husband so I won't need to get as many tickets/rooms. The OBC was $150 per room so $75 pp. I wasn't meaning to bad talk the price but more of trying to get a feel for if more people plan ahead in advance or do many just go last minute.

Edited by styme123