My Key West experience:

UF G8R

We were in Key West on the Fascination last week and sorry to say that I was disappointed. We took the ship provided transportation to Duval Street and stayed in that area. We were last there about 15 years ago and it was a quaint and interesting place. Now it is nothing but souvenir stores filled with plastic made in China. It is as vulgar, if not more so then New Orleans. XXX rated T shirts in windows for all to see. Next time I go I will do something to get away from that area to explore the rest of the Key. They had these golf cart type of vehicle for rent and I wish I had done that.

I have been collecting tacky picture frames for a few years and enjoy souvenir shops when I travel but there is NOTHING in the Duval area except these shops, bars, and the usual chain stores that cater to cruise ship passengers. It wasn’t until this trip that I realized that all of my frames were made in China. Every single one. I am changing my hobby and with my next trip (to Alaska in June) I will be shopping for locally made souvenirs.

Key West has been trying to do something about the reprehensible XXX-rated T-shirts and paraphenalia in Duval store windows. They have tried to persuade store owners to put that junk in the back of the stores.

So far they have had only limited success. Evidently there is no actual written law or city ordinance that makes such displays illegal, even though it is felt that allowing such displays tarnishes the city's image. It might be a "freedom of expression" issue. That merchandise must sell or it wouldn't occupy pride of place in store windows.

Actually for me, Duval Street offers little of interest besides its eating establishments. I prefer Key West's historical sites and love Fort Zachary Taylor State Park. You are smart to get away from Duval Street and discover Key West's other charms. Duval Street is just the Southermost branch of New Orleans Bourbon Street. Duval smells better, though.