My Experience with Medical on Carnival Breeze

sjb.illinois

Hi all,

I didn't include anything about my experience with medical on my review of our recent trip on the Breeze. But after reading a scathing review of the Breeze which called out medical I feel compelled to mention it here. Obviously, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and experiences vary (witness the large discrepancies in the Breeze reviews). But the recently posted review describes something in Medical that was completely different from mine. So here goes.

First off, I am a nurse. And I am a super over-protective mom. I've never broken a bone in my life, and I'm the one telling my kids not to run in flip-flops. But on the first full day (at-sea) of the cruise, which was windy, we were walking outside on deck 5 and I kicked a deck lounger trying to cut a corner. Smack. I kicked it hard. In flip-flops. I looked down and and I could tell from the appearance of my toe more from the sensation that it was broken. I've stubbed my toes a thousand times, and it always hurts - but this time it was totally sideways. So off we went to medical- me, DH, and the 2 kids. I think I was hoping to get a quick a-ok, it's nothing, send-off so we could go back to the cabin and get ready for the first formal night (even though I knew it was broken, so this was wishful thinking). Medical was easy to locate, but as soon as we went through the door we could tell it was busy. Medical serves passengers as well as crew, and they were full up. There were a number of crew as well as fellow passengers in the waiting area, and it was evident each exam room was full, including the ICU room. Still, I was greeted right away, by a pleasant if slightly no-nonsense nurse. She kept me posted though, saying they were very busy, she'd be with me as soon as she could, etc. I was given forms to fill out, told when I'd be seen, then shown into a room. After the nurse took x-rays, the physician came to speak with me when he was availab