Get off Le havre instead of Dover

Kotuku

My cruise finishes at Dover but I want to get off in Le Havre as the rest of the holiday will be spent in France so I don,t want to go to Dover and then catch the Chunnel train to Paris. However my TA says that the Sun Princess won't let me because of the lack of customs faciliite provided. I see advice from other CC's saying get off cruises in Le Havre rather than going onto Dover or Portsmouth or Southhampton. What advice can anyone give me about this as it is my first cruise.

However my TA says that the Sun Princess won't let me because of the lack of customs faciliite provided..

Jumping-ship in Le Havre near the end of a cruise is frequently done by pax cruising with other cruise lines, though I've no personal experience. It's an international port, with customs/immigration facilities. Passengers using the frequent ferries from Portsmouth pass through customs/immigration in Le Havre.

In any case, if you boarded your cruise in a european port, its possible that you won't have to go through immigration/customs - most european countries (Spain, France, Italy, but not the UK) are signed-up to the open-borders "Schengen agreement" (google it). A port-of-call at a non-Schengen country, such as Gibraltar or Tunisia, may foul-up that theory.

I'm no expert, but its worth checking it out.

Your cruise line may have its own rules on the matter, or your T/A may be mistaken. Well worth asking your T/A to double-check with Princess, or get the info direct from the horse's mouth.

If it's not possible to jump-ship, carry on to disembark in Dover & you can be in Paris by mid-day next day using Eurostar, but it will cost around £100 total for two.

See my response just an hour ago to a vaguely-similar question http://cruiseforums.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=1545138