Asking for Upgrades?

GoingAway9

I was talking to a co-worker of mine about our upcoming cruise because I'm excited. He's been on 7 cruises, and told me that when he gets on the boat he always goes to the desk (I have no idea what desk he's talking about... I'm new at this) and asks for an upgrade. He says he's been upgraded 4 times...

Does this really happen, or was he making things up? Carnival's website says they can't offer upgrades the day of because they always "sail full"... but I'm sure they're not always completely full.

Anyone have any experience with this? It would be awesome if we could get an upgrade, but I don't want to be that annoying guest trying to get something that just isn't going to happen...

I was talking to a co-worker of mine about our upcoming cruise because I'm excited. He's been on 7 cruises, and told me that when he gets on the boat he always goes to the desk (I have no idea what desk he's talking about... I'm new at this) and asks for an upgrade. He says he's been upgraded 4 times...

Does this really happen, or was he making things up? Carnival's website says they can't offer upgrades the day of because they always "sail full"... but I'm sure they're not always completely full.

Anyone have any experience with this? It would be awesome if we could get an upgrade, but I don't want to be that annoying guest trying to get something that just isn't going to happen...

I can't say it never happens, but there all kinds of stories posted here about all kinds of interesting things (good and bad) happening on Carnival, and I don't recall too many stories of walk-on upgrades.

Interesting thread... I guess my best chance is if I wait until day 2 to see if they have any available...

I wish more people were just flexible. I work at a hotel, and if we're not sold out and someone asks for an upgrade and we have one available, I always always give it to them. No questions asked. Maybe karma will pay off :p