Which island tour is best, St. Maarten or St. Thomas?

southeRNbelle38

Hi, I'm a newbie to the boards...haven't cruised in 10+ years. Cruising this summer with my family (DH & 2 children 12 & 8). Would like to go on an island tour/shopping with beach excursion for one of our ports and spend a full day at the beach with a little shopping at the other. We will be in St. Maarten & St. Thomas for 10 hours each.

Any input as to which island has the most to see? Or should I base my decision on the better beach...Magen's vs. Orient???

Thanks in advance for your wisdom:)

Why choose one or the other, we did both on each of those islands! 10 hours is a long time to spend doing either the whole time so why not do an island beach and shopping tour on each? We took a tour on St. Marteen(that's our shipped docked in St. Marteen in my avatar pic!) that went to Orient Beach and stopped in Marigot. This tour allowed us to shop for awhile before it left Phillpsburg, then shop and eat in Marigot then spend a couple hours at Orient Beach. We got to see a bit of the other side of the island on the ride back and had time for more shopping in Phillipsberg before returning to the ship. Having been to St. Thomas for vacation before I was familiar enough with it to be comfortable renting a jeep for the day and driving all over the island with a few beach stops while again having plenty of time to shop in Charlotte Amalie before returning the jeep and walking back to the ship.

I was actually contemplating doing a tour on both islands, but thought I may want to spend a little extra time at the beach on one of the islands. A 2 hour beach stop is a little too short for us.

Right now I'm leaning toward a tour on STT with a stop at Magen's, although I'd love to try to hop over to Trunk Bay... and for StM, ~4 hours at Orient Beach with a side trip to Marigot. But there's also Pinel tempting me to change my plans!!!