Diabetic and snorkling

Smart 4-2

I notice that some snorkel trips (HAL E Caribbean) won't take on diabetic cruisers. They lump us in with folks with heart conditions. Anyone heard of this? I know there are fit and athletic diabetics out there who would want to snorkel.

I am a beginner and probably just want to walk in and stay in shallow water.

You know better than anyone how your diabeties effects you. The tour groups are just covering their butts, by lumping all diabetics together. If you can swim, are comfortable in water and of course have your blood suger under control, you should be fine with most cruise ship tours.

Just take care of yourself, do a shore snorkel first to make sure you feel ok with the equipment and maybe opt for a snorkel vest and a good buddy who know what you would need if you got into trouble.

Jump in and have fun it is a great sport and a lot more fun than shopping in St Thomas. :D

P.S. I am not a doctor, but watched one on the Love Boat when I was a kid.

I have type 2 diabetes controlled by oral medication.My condition does not stop me from doing deep,technical, solo dives.My doctor is a diver and while he does think some of my deep stuff is a little stupid,he sees no reason why my diabetes should stop me from enjoying a sport I love.Talk to your doctor and get his approval.I don't see why you can't snorkel as long as you are not subject to blackouts are seizures. Make sure you wear a snorkel vest for safety and enjoy the beautiful world of the ocean.

Thank you Island Bear and Dive Master,

My snorkel skills at present would be best kept to the shallows. Maybe when I am fitter--- right now I'd hold up the group and might have trouble climbing into a boat.

I was just surprised to see all diabetics lumped into one group and "barred" from a sport by some operators.