Laptop/netbook/tablet for photographer

Rex008

I've got a bit of money to spend, and I'm thinking of getting one of the above. This will be for general use around the house, carrying about, trips, etc, but I'm also keen to use it as a photography aid (viewing, sorting, basic editing, etc).

First off - the hardest bit I think - which OS?

Windows - used to it (very, I'm a software developer), but tablet implementation is generally considered to be awful. Resource hungry. Lots of apps

IOS - I hate Apple, with total passion. I'd have to be seriously persuaded that it could do something I couldn't get elsewhere before considering. I'm very closed minded :)

Android - I think I'm defaulting to this if I go with a tablet, but have only used it on a phone. Android 3 Honeycomb is supposed to be pretty decent, but it is good for photographers? Any experience?

Then - form factor

Laptop - I'm thinking an ultra-portable, so 11-13" screen, unlikely to want bigger. Lots of lovely hard disc space, usually, and a good screen. Good connectivity. Almost certainly Windows OS. But relatively heavy. probably have to spend £400 to get something reasonable.

Netbook - as above, basically, but 10" screen. Less powerful, but I can get one thats 1.1kg (2.4lbs). So lighter than camera with decent lens on. Cheap (£200-250)

Tablet - very portable. Limited space (usually) and connectivity. Probably get more use round the house though. (>£300 for anything better than a nasty knock-off).

I started off thinking a Windows netbook, now I'm trying to persuade myself that an Asus Eee Pad transformer (£430) would be a frivolous toy. And I'm failing. Like the look of it.

Any photographers have experience with an Android 3 tablet? Useful?

Does anyone else take a computing device of some kind with them on a cruise (or holidays in general)? Whether it's for photography or anything else.