Going to Alaska next month. Camera questions

Going to Alaska next month spending 3 days in Seward, 1 in Talkeetna and 3 in Denali. Going on a Kenai Fjords day cruise and taking the bus into Denali 3 days. I'm probably what you'd call a novice at photography and would like to get some good wildlife shots.

I have a Canon T1i with the 2 kit lenses (18-55 and 55-250). I'd like to bring a lens that would add more length.

1. Looked into renting the Canon 100-400mm for about $160 or National Camera Exchange has the Tamron SP 70-300mm on sale for $400 now. I'll be traveling a bit more in the future so buying may make more sense. Is the Tamron a good deal? Will I regret not having the extra length in Alaska if I buy the Tamron instead of renting the Canon?

2. Like I said, I'm a novice and usually just use the auto setting. I dont know enough about the manual settings yet, however my pictures seem to lack some crispness to them. Is there any suggestions on what I can do to take better shots for the Alaska trip? Considering it will more than likely be gloomy and cloudy out.

I would lean towards the 100-400L if it were me. The push pull design is a bit different to get used to, but it is a nice lens. I think the quality of the Canon L series lens will really help. Also, the difference between 250mm of what you have and Tamron 300mm is really not that big IMO. If you are looking at spending in around $400 to buy a lens I'd look at the Canon 70-300mm IS lens, you can buy them directly on Canon USA refurb pretty cheap. I have had it and it is a great lens! At times you will find that 400mm still not big enough! Also, I wouldn't necessarily count on it being gloomy, more often than not on our 3 trips to Alaska it was beautiful. Maybe we were just lucky! But, from what I have heard they have had a pretty good season so far.