Binoculars up to snuff?

Tanless

I think I read some place that the NCL Pearl provides binoculars for guest use in some of the suites? If this is so, are they of decent quality and power for whale/mermaid watching ( in the ocean, not just around the pool)? Since I'm only bringing a carry-on, it would be one less thing to lug aboard.

Thanks for any useful insights or other comments in advance

I think I read some place that the NCL Pearl provides binoculars for guest use in some of the suites? If this is so, are they of decent quality and power for whale/mermaid watching ( in the ocean, not just around the pool)? Since I'm only bringing a carry-on, it would be one less thing to lug aboard.

I believe they are only provided to OS and above as we did not have them in the PH suite on the Gem in April but did have them in the OS last week. I am no expert on binoculars but they did seem to work pretty well with the exception of the "fogging" problem. If we saw something with our naked eye from the cabin and ran out to the deck with them to get a better look, the variance in temp from chilling cold a/c cabin to steamy Bermuda air and not allowing any time for them to acclimate to the change..... voila, fog. However, since your cruise is to Alaska I don't believe you will have this problem. ;)

A decent pair doesn't cost too much, unless your talking Artillery/Aircraft spotter grade glasses. I have a pair of those 10X60's(they were my Dad's, He was a 155 Howitzer battery Sgt. In the Korean war) but they needa tripod because they weigh about 11 pounds( heavier then DW's Professional DSLR camera set up!) You should be able ot get a Quality Pr. of Bushnell's (8x40) for less then 60 bux somewhere...;)

Bill(DrFootball)

("there are Pilots, then there are ARMY pilots…")