5 passenger cabin for Alaska 2012 summer

Dams

Newbie here, never been on any cruise before. Planning an alaska cruise with family this summer (? 2012 July preferably). We have 2 children (11 & 13) and 3 adults in our group. 3rd adult is my mother who is in her late sixties and does not speak fluent English. We are not the partying type, just want to relax and watch/sightsee on ocean and in Alaska. View is a must, so definitely want a balcony. Also want to eat on our own schedule, not crazy about formal attire (dress up). We all would like to be in 1 cabin/mini suite preferably.

I have a few questions.

1). Norwegian seems to be the best for us. Or do other lines also have some buffet type areas where we can walk in any time to eat in casual clothes.

2)Is now too late for booking Alaska for this July/summer, esp if we are limited to NCL? Can we still get some good cabins or we will be left with the undesirable rooms no one wants

3). How do we book for 5 persons? Most of the cabins/mini suites or even suites (when i checked online) say up to 4 persons but 5th person appears to be difficult. But some sites (thru cruisecritic) are calculating charges for the 5th person too in the total cabin price. In this case, will they bring a 5th makeshift bed each night and is there space for the 5th bed?

We do not mind being a little away from the activities but would like to be away from noisy areas.

thanks

ships that are cruising Alaska-- you will have to book 2 cabins.

Maybe a balcony and an inside across the hall.

Cruise ships are not like hotels they can only accommodate up to 4 people. (maximum)

We have sailed with 5 to an inside cabin and let me tell you they are very small.

Carnival has some of the bigger cabins at 185 square feet.

You want to check the size of the cabins on Norwegian- I found them way too small at 124 sq feet.

with 3 adults - one bathroom-- that will be a mighty long cruise.

--