Disembark time and self tour land portion

TravelRookie

Hi everyone,

I'm almost ready to book my late May 2013 Alaskan cruise (just waiting on return air fare prices to be uploaded for next June). It's a northbound from Vancouver to Anchorage and then hubby and I will do a land tour on our own to Denali etc.

Reading over the itinerary of the cruise details, I'm a bit confused. It says that we arrive in Anchorage at 12:30am. I looked at the cruisetours portion and it's the same arrival time, then says that on that day you disembark and hop on a rail to Denali. Am I safe to assume that this only happens later in the morning (ie. 8:30am) and not right when you get there after midnight? I've never done a cruise before so am unfamiliar with how disembarking works.

Also planning on taking 2 days in Denali and am wondering about the time frame needed to make it back to Anchorage. The morning we would leave Denali and head back, should we schedule the air fair the day after so we would have plenty of time to make it to Anchorage, spend the night and then leave the next day? I know some said you can rent a car from Anchorage to drive to Denali, what about doing the reverse; rent a car in Denali and drop it off to Anchorage?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Not sure which cruise you are on, but the time sounds a lot like our itinerary on the Sapphire Princess. I called Princess and they start embarkation at 8:00. We have a 9:00 private transfer - also heading to Anchourage for the night on the way to Denali - and they said we could make it, but should carry our own luggage off with us instead of giving it to them.

Hi everyone,

I'm almost ready to book my late May 2013 Alaskan cruise (just waiting on return air fare prices to be uploaded for next June). It's a northbound from Vancouver to Anchorage and then hubby and I will do a land tour on our own to Denali etc.