Smile Windstar/Gauguin Tahiti:Persons who have sailed on both ONLY

St Paul Girl

Hi CruiseCritic members:

I am new to this discussion board. My husband and I are planning on sailing around Tahiti in the autumn of 2015 and have narrowed down our choices to Windstar and Paul Gauguin.

I was going to post on the already being discussed thread, but we would like to hear from persons that have sailed on both and hopefully both in Tahiti.

Price is NOT an issue for us. We like fine dinning, meeting other persons, a little more casual than formal, I do NOT drink alcohol, but my husband makes up for me, and the cabin is a place to sleep, shower and nudge/wink/wink

We have sailed 3 times before, Holland America, Princess and Celebrity.

Your comments are very much appreciated.

Thank you and have a great day;

PS: I have also posted this on the Wind Star discussion area

To be honest, we will be going on our 7th PG cruise in September. While the islands are beautiful it is the ship and its crew that draws us back.

We have sailed on the cruise lines you have sailed in the past and I can assure you that even on our least best PG cruise, the PG experience was heads over the other cruise lines.

On our least best cruise, it was the passengers who made it least beast due to their attitude (older, wanting to be hand feed their experience).

PG sails in the Pacific where everything is flown in and if a meat provider can make a shipment the chef has to scramble. French law is also another challenge for the ship.

Hands down, except for the Gauiguines, entertaining on the ship is marginal.

The ship is small so one will have less attractions but I feel that the ship is more like what cruising use to be, before rock climbing and all that came about.

Sit back, relax, have a glass of wine at LA Palatte and watch the sunset set and then tell me it isn't wonderful.

Hi cruisedreamer1: