Schengen Visa - Single or Multiple Entry?

davidcraig2003

Hi,

Hoping someone may have experience in this!

We are booked on the MSC Sinfonia, July 14th out of Genoa visiting Cannes, Ibiza, Mahon, Olbia, Salerno and returning to Genoa. One of our group requires a Schengen visa. I'm a little worried that the consulate advised only a single entry visa. I appreciate that the cruise is not leaving the EU, but technically, 12 miles off the coast is international waters (and authorities would have to assume no one has joined at sea, obviously this doesn't apply to cruise ships, but it may be a universal ruling).

Has anyone flew into the EU, then a cruise within the EU, on a single entry visa? Concerned that the single entry is 'used' on landing in Genoa, with no visa usage left for the cruise!

Thanks!

I'm no expert but I'd have thought the single entry is correct. I'm assuming he/she will be travelling from the UK with you? When they flight into Italy (or France) to join the ship on Genoa, he/she enters Schengen zone at this point. All the ports the ship is calling at are within the zone, so there is only a single entry, since he will only leave when they depart Italy to return to the UK. It would be different if you were calling at Morocco, Tunisia or Turkey. Then that would conunt as leaving then re entering the zone.

Immigration is only when you land. You don't enter another country unless you arrive there. Crossing into international waters going from France to Spain or Spain to Italy doesn't count as you don't get off the ship whilst it is under navigation. I'm not even sure depending on the route that you will cross out of the zone even at sea.

When you board a cruise like this, I never have to surrender my passport nor does anyone else. When you have one that has other countries upside the zone, passports are kept by the ship.