24 hours in Vancouver, what to do?

jmarks

We are only a few days away from our trip and have many activities planned already. We don't know much at all about Vancouver, and we have a full afternoon and morning there before we board the Mariner at 2:00. We are staying at the Westin, (via priceline, thanks to all of you) and would love suggestions. Is the trip to Butchart gardens feasible? Worth doing?? Thanks to all.

I am NOT an expert so please take my suggestions with a grain of salt. We have about the same amount of time as you do and we are doing the following:

Taking a cab to Granville Island from the hotel to walk around and grab a bite to eat.

Taking a cab to Chinatown and possibly seeing the Dr. Sun Yet-Sen gardens if time allows.

Walking to Gastown to see a few things and then taking a cab back to the hotel to get ready for our 8pm dinner reservations.

The next morning we are going to do a carriage ride in Stanley Park and possibly visit the aquarium before boarding our ship.

Hope that helps! Looking forward to what the experts have to say...

when something catches your interest.Or stay on it and see the city and listen to the driver tell some history.The Bayshore is right by Stanley Park-go for a walk. Have a meal by the pool and look at the scenery.

We stayed at the Westin Bayshore 3 summers ago and loved it, so we plan to stay there again for the 2 nights before our cruise next summer.

I love the Butchart Gardens, and I highly recommend going there, but you don't have enough time. It's north of Victoria on Vancouver Island, and getting there requires a 90-minute ferry each way from Tsawwassen with a rental car. The Grayline Tours leave in the morning, so that's not an option for you.

I second the trolley idea: http://www.etix.com/glwest/servlet/onlineSale?action=viewTourDescription&route_id=12043&franchise_id=409