Overnight stay in Cairo or by the Pyramids??

Sandy R

I've read all the posts and they are very informative... thanks to all.

Next year, we will be overnighting in Port Said/Alexandria and will be contacting DeCastro this summer. I would love some cruisecritic input on the benefits of staying overnight in Cairo vs. the Pyramids.

Posters have talked about the Le Meridian Hotel at the Pyramids and the Conrad Hilton in Cairo... are there any other hotels that have been offered by De Castro?

Thanks for any information... I'm just beginning my research and feel like a newby as far as Egypt goes.

Sandy

Le Meridien or Oberoi Mena House by the pyramids -- vs. Nile Hilton or other Nileside hotel in Cairo? A toughie!

We stayed by the pyramids. It is spectacular to see those great monuments looming up through the dawn light! Check our pictures at

Egypt Trip

The big advantage of the Nile Hilton is that you just walk across the street for a Nile cruise or felucca sail, and even more important, just around the corner to the Egyptian Museum. With a limited time in Cairo, you want to get to the Museum as early as possible to avoid the crowds. This time, when we return to Egypt from a cruise ship, we will stay at the Nile Hilton for that reason.

With only one night, you just have to make a choice ... and save the other one for your return to Egypt!!:D

Have a GREAT cruise!

Le Meridien or Oberoi Mena House by the pyramids -- vs. Nile Hilton or other Nileside hotel in Cairo? A toughie!

We stayed by the pyramids. It is spectacular to see those great monuments looming up through the dawn light! Check our pictures at

Egypt Trip