Best port for watches??

I'm not an expert, but two weeks ago I was looking for a good everyday watch in St. Thomas (we were on Zuiderdam). I found a Tissot Titanium PR 50 and checked the price in three well known (on the ships recommended list) shops and finally purchased it in "Little Switzerland" for $250-. After I returned I checked online and I could of bought it cheaper (20-30%) on E-Bay or Amazon. Check online for ballpark prices before you go or even a local store. Duty free isn't all it up to be.

My sister has asked me to ask all of you, what is the best port to purchase a brand name watch that is much cheaper that in the U.S.???? Would St. Thomas be one of those ports? Thank you :D

What brand of watch is she looking for? I went to Jamaica and I found good deals and also in the Nassau.

All savvy shoppers shop ahead in the states before shopping at a port of call. Decide what you want to buy and price it here. It will keep you from making impulse buys which can turn out disastrous. The sales clerks in all of the jewelry stores are smooth talkers and might tempt you with make-believe "sale" prices. FOR SURE, price the watch you are interested in here,,,and make sure if it's a designer watch that you are getting an original at the port..not a knock off. Know the markings.

If you are looking for gold, know the current prices per weight. If you don't know how to inspect a diamond and a setting, you might easily buy something that's inferior to what you can get here. And even then...you may get taken.

I'll buy something that won't break the bank...OR my heart if I find out I over paid. But I'd personally not buy fine pieces there.

My sister has asked me to ask all of you, what is the best port to purchase a brand name watch that is much cheaper that in the U.S.???? Would St. Thomas be one of those ports? Thank you :D