Pre-cruise snorkel lesson.... yes or no??

keepap

So I've never snorkeled before and I really want to try on my upcoming cruise next month. So my question is to all those who have snorkeled.... do you think it is necessary to take a snorkel lesson before hand? I'm hearing from some others that they think it would be a waste of money better spent on my trip.

necessary? probably not

but if there is a class available, how could it be a bad idea?

You can relieve any angst about snorkeling in general ....

You might learn that it is not for you and avoid loss of $ on an excursion

You might learn that 'standard gear' is not for you, and decide to invest

do you want to waste 20% of your excursion time with a 'lesson' on the boat?

what am I missing?

(SCUBA diver since mid 70's and still active . . . .)

Edited by Capt_BJ

As a SCUBA instructor, I teach a few snorkeling classes a year. Honestly I wish it were more. Certainly not for the money (we charge $25.00 for the class at the shop I'm at) but because I see people not realizing the full potential of their sport. Most people who go snorkeling get the experience of a glass bottom boat. That is they stay on the surface and look down at the reef and marine life. Some don't realize, and many lack the ability to dive down and get a close look at what's there. A few hours and a few dollars can easily multiply the value of your excursions. Seems like money well spent, no?

It's really fun to see students pick up the techniques, and great when they return from a trip and talk about what a great time they had.

Harris

Denver, CO

Edited by omeinv

We bought our snorkel equipment from a local dive shop, and when they taught scuba lessons, they invited us to come swim in the pool with our equipment. One of the instructors helped us learn some of the basics. That helped so much!