Pinel Island to port; taxi availability

lah66

We will be in St Martin in October and want to snorkel Pinel Island.

My biggest concern is a return taxi. It sounds like Pinel Island has become a more popular choice with cruisers since the taxis group the cruisers going there when the ship docks. It only makes sense that they will bring you back to the ship later in the day. So my question is, do I have to worry about being stranded? We plan to ask our cab driver to return for us at a certain time. If he doesn't show up, can't we just call for another taxi? Or have the kayak rental owner call for us (we may rent from him). Is this a desolate area that we couldn't walk to a more populated area that would have taxi's? If I remember correctly, the drop off point is "5 minutes" outside Marigot. Sounds walkable to me!

Is there any reason for concern at all?

Thanks everyone!

Lauri

I have no direct experience with a taxi to the Pinel Ferry location, as we have always had a rental car when venturing there.

I do know that there have been many postings on this board mentioning being stranded when their scheduled taxi did not return for them.

I'm not aware of any changes with the taxi dispatcher grouping people together to go there, as they've always put together groups if you want. Where did you read about these changes??

It makes sense unless there is a more lucrative trip available to them when you might want your return.

I think that your rental company should be able to call for a taxi for you, but there could be a delay.

You could walk out to a more populated area, but as to the '5 minutes outside of Marigot', no way. It is about 6 1/2 miles and probably 15 - 20 minutes travel by car, at best.

gary

Hi Gary,

Thank you so much for the info and all you do on the board! That puts things into perspective for me! Hmmmm...I do not really want to rent a car just to get to Pinel. Maybe when I call to rent a kayak, I will ask the owner.