What to pack?

joy@disney

I am a newbie to cruising, and I have seen some pretty extensive packing checklists.

My SIL said to not over pack, all you end up wearing is shorts and your bathing suit. What's your opinion?

In general, set out what you want to pack, then take away half of it! Make sure you have a good pair of walking shoes, suitable clothing for the dining room and the rest depends on where you're cruising to.

Be aware most cruise lines provide shampoo, conditioner, soap, hair dryer, so don't bring those.

Have a great cruise!

Which cruiseline? On most, during the day, you'll be in either your swimsuit or shorts/tee.....casual stuff. For dinner, you'll wear either capris, skirt, sundress....or on formal evenings, a cocktail dress or evening gown. Hubby will wear swim trunks/shorts/tee during the day, and dockers and collared shirt for casual nights...dark suit or tux for the formal evenings.... That's on MOST lines....check with your cruiseline's requirements!

Is your intention to eat only at the buffet? You cannot wear shorts or a bathing suit in the Main Dining Room or any Specialty Restaurants or nightclubs on the ship. So you will need either some trousers and tops or a few dresses - the kind of thing you would wear when you go out to a restaurant or nightclub on land. Depending on the ship, you may need formalwear.

On Carnival you can wear nice shorts in the dining room except on Formal Night.

I pack a couple bathing suits, some shorts and tops, a pair of capris and a different top each night for the dining room (my husband and son wear shorts and pull-over shirt). We don't eat in the MDR on formal night. But you'll want something nice for that night.

I only carry sandals/flip flops since we only do beach type excursions.

First cruise I overpacked. Learned to just keep to the basics on the last one and will do the same on my upcoming cruise.

I hope this helps:) and I hope you have a great cruise!