Post-Cruise Hotel 'day room' recommendations

Rock Chick

Hi, my post-cruise flight back to the UK doesn't leave till 5pm and I've read on the forums that people can book a hotel just for the day. I've never done this before, so I looked on the websites for several Miami hotels to try and compare costs but couldn't find any information or facility to book for just a few hours.

Can anyone recommend Miami hotels which offers this facility please and how to go about booking it?

I'll be on my own without a car, so if there's a shuttle to the airport available that would be useful. I'd get a cab from the port to the hotel. I'd like a hotel with a nice pool and comfy sun loungers and somewhere nice to eat lunch.

Thank you.

Hotels near the airport should be more accomodating to crazy flight times - the Blue Lagoon area near MIA has several hotels that are often suggested on these boards including the Hampton Inn, Homewood Suites and many others - I've stayed at the Homewood and the pool/hot tub area is nice and there are dining options within a 10 minute walk You may be able to catch breakfast if you hurry off the ship. :D

I doubt you can book a day room via the web site - you will need to call the hotel directly. You should be able to find the hotel numbers on the internet - call the hotel, not the 1-800 reservation number.

A taxi from POM to any hotel near MIA will run under $30 including tip; you should be able to use the free shuttle service to get from the hotel to MIA for your flight.

Good luck!:)

FYI, if you wanted to go to South Beach and hang out, you might want to do that.

You can take a cab to Lincoln Rd, or Collins, or wherever the mood takes you.

There's an Airport Flyer bus that will take you back to MIA for only $2.35 and they have luggage racks, etc.

http://www.miamidade.gov/transit/library/airport_flyer_brochure.pdf

I wish you could do a Luggage Express thing with your cruise line, but I fear they don't do it for International travelers. =:-(