purse only vs. purse and carry on bag

natduv

Ladies, what do you carry when you fly to another city to board a ship? I'm a veteran cruiser but I want to lighten my carry on load. I will be flying across country two days before my cruise, so I will have access to my luggage at the hotel. I was planning on taking just an organizer purse on the plane and packing a carry on to use for the last night of the cruise and also packing a mini bag to use on the ship. What are some suggestions and ideas?

I always carry a purse with my money, ID, passport, phone etc when I fly in addition to my carry on. Usually I stuff my carry on with books, food, sweater, eye mask, and other such items. I find that carrying both keeps me organized and really is only a hassle when at the airport. When on board, I usually use a wristlet to carry my phone, ID, sign and sail card, and some cash for tipping. This time I'm cruising the Mediterranean and I bought a swing pack (that's what Coach calls it, it's a purse that goes across your body) to avoid the notorious pick pockets. With that I bought a little wallet that I can attach to secure my cards and cash. They're perfect. Just enough room for some lip gloss, phone, camera, and other must have items while at port.

Hope this helps!

I usually bring a purse that I will use day to day while on the cruise in addition to my carry on. In my carry-on I always pack a set of spare clothes, toiletries, books and a few other things. In my suitcase, I pack a messenger bag that I use in port to hold/carry my souvenirs. Since I do a lot of traveling with my younger brother - he'll carry it for me. At the end of the trip, I would empty out my carry-on and all those items would go into my suitcase. All of my souvenirs go into the carry-on and I will also have my purse as well. My brother will have the messenger bag filled and his carry-on as well. It has always worked for us.