Advantages to booking onboard, deposit on a 14day (non-suite)??

I have never done this before. Since it is for a late 2011 cruise I'm hoping the deposit would be less. There is no info required deposits on the RCCL website aside from numerous inquiries about why they increase the deposit on suites.

Not exactly sure of what u r asking. We bought next cruise certificate last year. since we paid $100 per certificate that was considered our down payment. We just booked a cruise for Dec 2011, and we booked four cabins. since we used our next cruise certificates we did not need to put anymore money down. Is this what u r asking?

If you book your next trip while onboard it's only $100 deposit per person regardless of room type (I believe), but if you wait until after you come back it goes up. I believe the deposits are based on the number of days and not the room type. Because when comparing the different cabin types on our upcoming cruise the deposit ammount stayed the same. Might differ for suites.... never checked so I don't know.

On that note, I emailed C&A the day after our cruise and they honored the $100 deposit on our next cruise.. which made me a very happy camper.

I have never done this before. Since it is for a late 2011 cruise I'm hoping the deposit would be less. There is no info required deposits on the RCCL website aside from numerous inquiries about why they increase the deposit on suites.

Booking a specific cruise on board your deposit will be $100pp for a JS cabin or below and you will receive a $300 OBC for a 14+ day cruise.

The reason that they increased the deposit for suites was to discourage those people that book them and then before final payment is due they cancel. If you are serious about a specific cruise and a specific suite then paying a double deposit isn't a big deal.