Embarrassingly simple question...how much does a travel agent charge?

ksc1984

I have never used TA but I think I might need one now. I have little experience with travel. I booked a to-die-for cruise on board--SA and Antarctica in 2012. Now I'm concerned I will need help with the airlines and hotels because foreign travel is involved. I feel like it's going to be more complicated and the stakes are higher. I don't want to get stranded somewhere with my high school Spanish! I am a person that likes to do things independently but I'm doubting myself this time. What can I expect from a TA as far as services and charges?

I have never used TA but I think I might need one now. I have little experience with travel. I booked a to-die-for cruise on board--SA and Antarctica in 2012. Now I'm concerned I will need help with the airlines and hotels because foreign travel is involved. I feel like it's going to be more complicated and the stakes are higher. I don't want to get stranded somewhere with my high school Spanish! I am a person that likes to do things independently but I'm doubting myself this time. What can I expect from a TA as far as services and charges?

You pay a travel agent nothing for his services. His commission is paid by by cruise companies, airlines, etc. A good TA is worth their weight in gold.

They will handle any & all reservations and bookings for you, travel insurance, flights, hotels, transfers, advise you on what documentation you will need for overseas travel, assist you in getting visas if required, help with shore excursions, and most importantly, will be there for you if something goes wrong during your trip.

Normally, they can get you a better rate on a cruise than booking directly with the cruise lines, as well as possibly some perks like OBC's, complimentary dinners/lunches in the specialty restaurants, complimentary bottles of wine, photos, etc.