Please HELP! Is this cruise going past Na Pali Coast?

flipflops84

I could use a little help :confused: We are trying to book a cruise on POA for May 12, 2012, but the itinerary seems to be different from what people have discussed on these boards in the past. Can someone PLEASE help me by looking up the itinerary for this date and telling me if we will be cruising by the Na Pali coast?

I am trying to decide if we should be portside of starboard, and based on older reviews people say go portside for the Na Pali coast views. However, from what I can tell (and I'm a complete novice to Hawaii cruising), it doesn't appear as if the May 12, 2012, POA cruise actually goes past the coast. Can someone tell me if this is so? Which side will be better if that is the case? I am trying to book before the April 1 price increase but I am just so confused! THANK YOU! :o

I am trying to decide if we should be portside of starboard, and based on older reviews people say go portside for the Na Pali coast views.

The Na Pali coast view is usually best from the port side, but the lava sail-by is best from the starboard side. The lava sailby is at night so watching from the balcony in your pj's might be welcome :). Also the port side faces the industrial ports when docked in most ports. Having said that - in our cruise (March 12th sailing) our lava sailby was a bust (no lava !!) so port side worked out great.

When we were on POA in Feb. the Captain turned the ship around so that both sides of ship were able to see the coast. It was beautiful.

Generally you're right about turning around but the problem is that after they turn around they are traveling much faster and farther away from the coast. Another factor for me is that because it is approaching 6:00 PM the shadows get long and affects any photography you may be interested in taking. Views into the valleys are not as good.