trains from london to southampton

These are two of the rail companies that were set up following the break-up & privatisation of British Rail. The privatisation has brought many advantages - but confusion is one of the disadvantages.

Confused? :confused:

You will be :D

I'm on thin ice here, cos I'm no expert but I think you'll find that three franchises operate London to Southampton.

South-West Trains operate a fast, frequent & direct service from London Waterloo. :)

Southern operate a direct service from London Victoria - but it goes the pretty way, so takes an hour longer (but ideal for London Gatwick airport - Southampton)

First Great Western offer a service London Paddington to Reading, then change trains for Southampton.

I've no idea how long it takes, because unless there's a problem with the South-West service from Waterloo there's no point in taking it. :rolleyes:

Even if you start in Paddington.

It's also possible, but not advisable, to take a Southern train from London Victoria to Clapham Junction & switch there to the SouthWest train to Southampton.

For 99% of rail passengers, SouthWest trains from London Waterloo is the way to go.

Especially if you buy silly-cheap advance-purchase non-refundable Megatrain tickets at £4 or less (Megatrain rent carriages on SouthWest trains on this route)

John Bull

These are two of the rail companies that were set up following the break-up & privatisation of British Rail. The privatisation has brought many advantages - but confusion is one of the disadvantages.

Confused? :confused:

You will be :D

I'm on thin ice here, cos I'm no expert but I think you'll find that three franchises operate London to Southampton.

South-West Trains operate a fast, frequent & direct service from London Waterloo. :)

Southern operate a direct service from London Victoria - but it goes the pretty way, so takes an hour longer (but ideal for London Gatwick airport - Southampton)