Soft Drinks Package

Tigrou

Hello. I'm new to Cunard and am wondering whether it's worth me buying the soft drinks package. My main concern is how easy it is to actually get a soft drink on QM2, particularly in the MDR.

When we cruised Celebrity I paid for the soft drinks package but found it somewhat difficult to get one. In the MDR they had to be ordered from the bar waiter who clearly wasn't interested in providing them as presumably it made him no money. I only managed to get a soft drink because my DH was ordering alcohol, and once the bar waiter learned that DH would only order one drink each evening he wouldn't come back asking if we wanted any more so I was never able to get a second. When eating in the buffet I would have to go to the nearest bar if I wanted a soft drink and, similarly to the MDR, the bar tenders were not keen on spending time pouring a soft drink for me when they could be selling alcohol to other guests.

The cost benefit of the soft drinks package is debatable for me but I would like the ease of it, if I can easily get a drink when I want one. However, if I'm going to spend more time trying to get a drink in the MDR than being able to enjoy it with my meal then I won't bother.

I'd appreciate hearing anyone's experiences.

We always purchase the soft drinks package on QM2 and generally have had no difficulty getting soft drinks with our dinner in the MDR. You do order your soft drinks from the drinks waiter, but what often happens is that after the first evening, the drinks waiter learns our routine and we find soft drinks waiting for us at our table when we arrive for dinner. It hasn't always worked out that way on every voyage, but probably more often than not. We have found the drinks waiters are generally available for us to order a second soft drink during dinner in the MDR although they can get very busy and are not always immediately available when we are ready to order that second soft drink.