Which cruise line?

Hi, I've been cruising since 1992 myself, but not anymore after the pandemic. My friend enjoys dressing up for dinner and good food. In the past, he has cruised on Cunard, but there are noticeable cost cuts there as well. Could someone recommend a cruise line that still has those two criteria (2 weeks no more than 2500USD/pp)?

Most of the premium lines (Viking, Oceana, Regent, Azamara) will have dressier suggested wear.  But they also will almost all be at a premium fare that may be higher than Cunard.

Your price suggestion is totally subjective as fares will always be based on itinerary, ship, time of year, and length of cruise and will vary by those parameters. In other words that is not a viable way to gauge a cruise line as it is too fluid of a variable.

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, leaveitallbehind said:

Most of the premium lines (Viking, Oceana, Regent, Azamara) will have dressier suggested wear.  But they also will almost all be at a premium fare that may be higher than Cunard.

Neither Oceania nor Azamara require dressing for dinner beyond the normal for most cruise lines (e.g., no shorts, collared shirt, no beachwear). There are no "formal" evenings and jackets are not required. I haven't been on the other two, so can't answer for them.

I believe Silversea is still a bit dressier in the evenings. 

Edited by cruisemom42
  • Like 1

35 minutes ago, cruisemom42 said:

Neither Oceania nor Azamara require dressing for dinner beyond the normal for most cruise lines (e.g., no shorts, collared shirt, no beachwear). There are no "formal" evenings and jackets are not required. I haven't been on the other two, so can't answer for them.

I believe Silversea is still a bit dressier in the evenings. 

Thanks for this update.  I didn't think dressing for dinner was required or had designated formal nights (in particular Azamara) but thought it may be more upscale than others with them.