Flights to Athens

ASR

My partner and I have booked a ten day Athens to Barcelona cruise on Oceania’s Insignia on October 24. This will be our 12th cruise, but our first to the Mediterranean. We are very excited and looking forward to it. We have cruised Renaissance in the past and love the ships.

I’m interested in finding out about flights. We booked our air through Oceania. Do they usually charter flights?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. icon_smile.gif

ASR

oceania puts you on regularly scheduled airlines. No charters.

Recently, there has been some discussion of problems relating to routing and scheduling. I'm no expert in this field, but two things seem obvious to me: 1. No one, including cruiseline personnel, arranges for bad routing on purpose. and 2. The less than desirable scheduling/routing may be the result of cruiselines booking flights closer to departure than you might book them yourselves and the fact that they pay less than you do if you book yourself.

We paid a deviation fee on our last cruise with Oceania because we wanted to travel a bit before the cruise. I made my preferences known . . . kind of "if it's possible, I would like" and I got a better itinerary than I expected. In fact, they did something I probably would not have done. They put us on one airline outbound and a different one returning because that worked better. I couldn't have been more pleased.

Regardless of how you get there, your cruise will be fabulous.

I haven't done this yet, as we have been upgrading our flights with frequent flyer miles to go biz class, but when I asked the same question the reply was..They charge 50$ p/p foryou to be able to get the deviation. You should check out what flights are best for you and have your agent relay that info to the cruiseline. If the flight would cost more though ( than ships charges) you may have to pay difference.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Andee: