First time cruisers.....so lost!

MarlinDarlin

Hi All!

DH and I are considering an Alaskan Cruise as our first cruise....and holy crap it seems like I'm on information overload!!! No matter how much I read it all seems like I can't keep track of the options!

Best cruise option?

Best cruise line?

I know preference is subjective to what you like... We're pretty young (30 & 33) but not party people, and my DH is likely in bed by 10pm on most nights...haha! Neither of us drink, and I could never get him out dancing - but we do like great food and an upscale atmosphere. Not too concerned with budget, and he's expressed possibly a smaller ship. I'm happy to lay around and lounge, with some excursions, but my DH is a go-go-go kind of guy.

We aren't new to boating in general, DH is a private yacht captain by profession, so while I've wanted to take a cruise for a while he spends almost all of his time on the water and has always said an Alaskan is the only one that interests him.

Do most people book on their own, or is a travel agent recommended? I'm assuming it's best to fly into your departure port a day early?

I'd love some suggestions, hints, etc!

Congrats....you posted your query in the best forum for answers to Alaskan questions!

I'll start by telling you that Alaska cruises come in just a few configurations.

Round trip from Seattle - 7 days

Round trip from Vancouver - 7 days

Round trip from San Francisco - 10 days

One way northbound from Vancouver to Anchorage (Whittier Seward) 7 days

One way southbound from Anchorage (Whittier,Seward) to Vancouver 7 days

14 day roundtrips from Seattle or Vancouver

Everyone has to decide which type of trip fits their circumstances.

There is lots more, but someone else can continue...:D

FIRST- how much time do you have? Are you interested in mainland touring? Read a travel book- Fodor's Alaska and Frommer's Alaska, are especially concise. And will give you information that is already sorted out by area.