NCL Cruisers: Anyone ever used a Paypal Mastercard?

funat55

I have a lot of clients who pay me through paypal instead of sending a check. I have a paypal mastercard that is tied to my paypal account. I have a tendency sometimes to just let the money sit in the paypal account. Now I would like to use it for my upcoming cruise. Has anyone ever used a paypal mastercard? I should add that the mastercard itself has a small line of credit, but the paypal account has money on it that I could use if I went over my limit.

My wife had one of these cards. We cancelled it after they blocked the card several times in a row for "suspicious charges" that were regular charges. Even after she'd talked to them. It just wasn't worth the hassle for us to keep it.

I did notice in the terms for the credit card that it does mention being able to use your points for cruises, so don't see why you couldn't use it for what you're intending.

It would depend on how the card handles a hold. When you give a credit card at check-in, Norwegian puts a hold on your card and that reduces your credit line. So, if you have a small credit line, and that's all that gets counted, that can be a problem. (This is why you should never use a debit card - the money in your checking account is blocked from other use.) On our last trip, there were a number of holds on my account, plus the final charge when we disembarked, so more than the final amount was held up until the holds finally rolled off a couple of days later.

You could use a credit card at check-in, and then just pay for your final bill with your PayPal card - you would just have to go to guest services to do so.