Silver Galapagos June 7, 2014

joek

Have a great trip.

I will be boarding, when you disembark, for the two cruises following yours. Since I am a photographer, but don't expect to return to the Galapagos (too many other places in the world I haven't photographed yet), I decided to see all the islands in one trip.

Sure hope the local crew has had sufficient time to approach Silversea standards for service. My only real concern is whether the old air conditioning can keep my suite cool enough at night for a good sleep. I tend to push hard during the day, spend time downloading and reviewing my day's pictures after dinner and then collapse. Need a cool suite to sleep well and then do it all over again the next day. Probably will need a vacation when I get back from this trip.

We are on this cruise and are very excited. It is our first on Silversea. Have started my list - sunscreen, insect repellent, etc. I have read all the previous posts and know that this ship is an expedition staffed totally by locals and may not be totally up to normal Silversea's standards. But I know it will be fine and we are going for the Galapagos.

I do concur with the OP - the air conditioning at night after a busy day is probably at the top of my list. I have learned over the years to calibrate my expectations and go with the flow. It has served me well.:)

We have the same situation, NCCruzQueen. Esther likes the house warmer than I do, she wears long pants and shirts, I wear tank top and shorts...(not a pretty sight).

Weather forecast for our week is mostly cloudy, highs of 75, lows 48.

Cruise time is closing in. Off to the scuba store today to pick up a new mask and snorkel. I will probably pick up a snorkel vest. Not much of a swimmer, so the extra buoyancy should help my confidence.