POA July 6 Review: Long!

elhenry

Will eventually be in the review section, but not posted yet. :)

Sailed on the July 6, 2013 POA RT from Honolulu. Of course, Hawaii is the star, but don’t believe the negatives: the POA is a fine way to see the islands and the service is no better or worse than any other cruise ship. I don’t know what ship the haters are sailing. And you’re in Hawaii, how can you lose?

Background: I have been cruising for about 20 years, usually every other year more recently. I leave DH at home and cruise with my extended family: parents, sis and her family, brother. Two previous NCL cruises, two previous Princess, one Celebrity and six RCCL.

Pre-cruise stay: Marriott Beach Club at Ko Olina. This is the same area where Disney’s Aulani resort is located. (There are four “lagoons” at Ko Olina, Marriott has two, Disney has one, the third is not associated with any hotel. Of course, all beaches in Hawaii are public, but this indicates the location of the hotels. ) It is completely fabricated tourist area and I loved it. The rooms were huge with two bedrooms and a full size kitchen, and pricey pricey pricey. The walkways around the lagoon are completely paved, which was great for my wheelchair bound mother. Huge pools with waterslides and waterfalls. About a half hour drive to Pearl Harbor and/or Waikiki.

To the POA:

Boarding: Difficult to assess in general, because Mom was in a wheelchair and visibly recovering from an injury, so we went straight to the handicapped line and boarded. Loved the lei greeting and the photo with cast members from the Polynesia show. When we embarked, cruise director Chris Martin was roaming the boarding hall and introduced himself; that has not happened in my two previous cruises with NCL or any cruises with other lines.