Protecting my head from the sun

I'm not sure if this is the right board to ask this but I'll give it a shot anyway. In the past whenever I spend a lot of time in the sun I end up burning my scalp. Besides wearing a hat, is there anything else I can do to prevent this from happening? I really don't want to be wearing a hat every time I'm outside.

Gee I think a light weight hat is your best option short of using a sweet little parasol. They do make shampoos with sunscreen but I have no knowledge re. their reliability. Just google it..there are a ton of brands out there!:cool:

I have actually put sunblock on my scalp. lol. But you may want to try that beforehand and see how your hair does with the shampoo afterwards... greasy or not.

Also, I bought a hat from academy sports that has a brim and sunblock infused in the fabric.

I don't know if http://www.medispastore.com has any sunscreen shampoo or spray in conditioner, but you might try there. They have a 20% off coupon that ends today code: glow20 I love Dermalogica products; they have a solar line and a body line... dont' remember about shampoo though...

I use the spray sunblock on my scalp. Especially on the part...nothing worse than getting in the shower to wash your hair and feeling that burning sensation.

I do this too, I use the sport kind too. They are sweat/waterproof. If I am going to be in the water a lot, bullfrog is good. I have resorted to putting the gell kind in my part before when I did not have spray. Make sure you reapply and use at least a 30. For this reason the spray on kind is easiest.

There are sprays on the market just for your scalp, my daughter is fair with red hair and we had used it for her. It has an SPF of 30, it is called Scalp Screen by Sun & Splash. Good luck, oh ya I bought ours at Wal-Mart.

I googled sunscreen for the scalp and got this: