Cruising Newbie Here, All Kinds of Questions

nickdawg

Hey all.

The wife and I just booked a 5 day with a balcony on Radiance of the Seas on October 19th. It will be the first cruise for both of us. We're excited, but we have alot of questions. I hope you don't mind answering a few of them for us.

Please forgive me if the answers are in other threads, I just wanted to have one post with all the info to show her later. Oh and I believe we are in room 7160 on deck seven. Has anyone had this room before?

Okay first off, what is the best dining option? She says she wants Early Dining because she doesn't really want to eat late and she doesn't want My Time because she has heard that the lines are long, and it's difficult to find a place to sit. Is this true?

Formal Nights. Are they required? Is it more business casual wear, or strictly formal?

Best things to bring? Camera obviously. Swimwear? Different pairs of shoes? Medicine?

Pricing. We booked through a travel agency. Will the price go down or is it set? Do I call them or do they call me, or just automatically adjust?

Parking. How much does it typically cost, and where in San Diego is the best place? Also, how early should we arrive?

Specialty Restaurants. I am assuming these are the non buffet type places that have a cover charge. Say the charge was $20. That is per person, right? Does that mean we pay $40 and then also pay regular menu prices? Or do we pay the $40 and eat free, sans alcohol and soda?

Cell Phones and Internet Access. Is it expensive? Will our cell phones work out at sea? We have Verizon.

Finally, how far out do the ships go from the coast. Anyone know how many miles? I was just curious. I wonder if you see land the whole way or not until you get closer.

Sorry for all the questions.

:)

Hey all.