Submarine in Grand Cayman

cbressler76

I am no expert so take what I say with a grain of salt. I find it a cheaper 9 times out of 10 to book with a private company. Check online there may be several places that have them. You can check out atlantisadventuresdotcom. They had an online exclusive deal going on that may still be in effect.

At this time there is only one submarine operator in Cayman - Atlantis. In the past there had been one other which operated a two passenger sub with the pilot outside wearing scuba gear.

Atlantis operates several times each day, assuming conditions allow. Often the ship's schedule only lists two trips. If those times don;t work well for you then you can check directly with Atlantis to see what other times may be offered.

• 2 months later...

We just got back from our cruise, and we really enjoyed the submarine. We went down to 101 feet, and it was so well airconditioned and pressurized, I (the pannicky one) was completely content. Best 100 $ I ever spent. Saw sea turtles, lots if different kinds of fish, and we saw the WALL! the guide was very funny, and we had a wonderful time. The sub seats 40, there were less than 20 people there.We got to move from port to starboard as animals of interest appeared.

If you do not scuba, I highly recommend this tour.:)

Thanks for the information on the submarine. I think we'll do that as we don't snorkel. When you go to Atlantis website they list a price for teens ($20 cheaper). I noticed that on the Carnival website they only list a price adults and children.

• 1 month later...
...also is it true that you cannot see colors well as you go deeper?

That is true. It is physics at work.

As sunlight passes through water certain wavelengths of light are absorbed. First to go is red. A bit deeper and orange is gone. The deeper you go, and the more water the light passes through, the more colors you lose.