Oasis - Ocean View Balcony or Central Park Balcony?

I am very new to CC and I want to thank everyone for sharing this great information! We are sailing on April 10th and, in the past, have always booked an ocean view balcony or jr. suite balcony. We are now booked in a D-1, but there is now a significant price difference between the Ocean view and the Central Park balconies. I've been to the thread about the cabins, but I am hoping to get a feel from someone who has stayed in the Central Park and how they would compare it to being in an ocean view balcony cabin. (Big price difference which would give us more $$ to spend on specialty restaurants and wine.) Thanks again! :D:rolleyes:

We were just in a Central Park Balcony. I don't think there is any size difference between the two (both 182 sq. ft. if I recall) so it's more about the view than anything else.

Here's the issue we had with the Central Park view and why we booked an ocean view balcony for our Allure cruise. The view never changes. You can't tell that you're sailing and can't tell when you're in port. It's equivelent to having an atrium view at a hotel like Embassy Suite's or one of the Gaylord properties such as Gaylord Opryland Hotel. It had more of a resort feel to it rather than a cruise ship feel. Depsite the balcony, it felt more like an inside cabin to me than a real balcony cabin.

The cabin was fine and, if there was a big enough price difference I might consider a Central Park balcony again but, it's the third one down on my list of balcony views. #1 is ocean view. I like the feeling of being on a cruise when I look out. #2 would be a Boardwalk balcony. At least you can see the ocean by looking aft. #3 would be a Cental Park balcony and this would really only be choosen as a last resort. Basically if I wanted to cruise but couldn't afford any other balcony cabin on the ship.

It was a nice balcony stateroom but, it's not what we're looking for in a stateroom on a cruise.