Questions about rate reduction

katboferguson

I am new to cruising and have a couple of questions about checking for price reductions.

How often do rates go down for the balc guarentee rate? Is it worth checking? Also if you book through an on-line agency do you look for rate reductions at their website or do you go directly to the cruise ship's website? It seems that the cruiseline's rates are much higher than the online agency rates anyway.

I am new to cruising and have a couple of questions about checking for price reductions.

How often do rates go down for the balc guarentee rate? Not by any set schedule, depends on how the cruise is selling. Many people check daily.

Is it worth checking? Yep

Also if you book through an on-line agency do you look for rate reductions at their website or do you go directly to the cruise ship's website? Use the cruiseline site as the benchmark. Check and note their rates when you book with a TA. If you see them go down, call your agency to see if they can also reduce your discounted rate.

It seems that the cruiseline's rates are much higher than the online agency rates anyway. Yes, Princess allows TA's to discount, so your rate from them will always be lower than the full price Princess rate.

Answers above...

"Yes, Princess allows TA's to discount, so your rate from them will always be lower than the full price Princess rate."

Not always true. I have booked a few times directly w/ Princess as it was the lowest price for a balcony guarantee I could find. I probably use TA (usually online TA) 3/4 of the time and directly through Princess the rest of the time. Currently booked through Princess and had looked everywhere for a better price. Couldn't find one. It pays to check all options.;)

"Yes, Princess allows TA's to discount, so your rate from them will always be lower than the full price Princess rate."