Advice on ports, Marina Jewels of the Aegean

rubysue

Note: I'm relatively new to Cruise Critic and posted the following in the Roll Call section and have had no responses (apparently the wrong place to post this), so I'm trying it here. If anyone has been on the Jewels of the Aegean itinerary on Oceania, I would greatly appreciate some advice.

We are excited to travel on Marina next September on this itinerary from Venice to Istanbul. The 2011 itinerary eliminates Split and adds Kotor, Montenegro.

On many of the cruises we have done in the past, we have heavily relied on shore excursions booked through the ship. These experiences are usually quite wearying and are not always the best value. On this particular itinerary, can anyone advise us on what ports are best seen on your own. One thing to note: I have some disabilities (walk with a cane, occasional use of a travel wheelchair), so advice with that in mind is also appreciated.

Thanks!

Rubysue

Dear Rubysue:

We are scheduled for this year's Jewels of the Aegean on Nautica. Right now it is our intention to do most of the ports on our own. We have connected through the Roll Call with other passengers and have private tours set up in Koper & Kusadasi. We may do a ship's tour in Itea and will probably just wander on our own in most of the other ports.

Our roll call has not been as active as have other Oceania cruises that we have been on. I hope as time goes on you will have better luck. My advise for now is that you start following the posts in the Europe section under Ports of Call. There is a subsection for Greece and one for "other" which covers Slovenia, Croatia, Turkey, etc. There you will see comments from cruisers besides just Oceania cruisers.

Marilyn

Rubysue-

Welcome to Cruise Critic!

I think that the reason why you have not had any responses as yet, is that you are approaching this much too broadly.