How long is the drive from LAX to Long Beach?

This about thirty miles or so. Burt this is SoCal miles so depending on the day of the week and time of day, 45 minutes to a few hours. I was a professional driver for many years and have driven that route many times so all i can say really it just depends

I'm guessing you are going on a Carnival cruise. I will get in at least a day ahead and stay in Long Beach (see Bruin Steve's hotel posts about Long Beach to get recs for decent hotels in the decent areas). If you want to do any sightseeing, let us know what you're interested in seeing.

As for times, it really does depend on day of the week and time you're getting in. But as long as you're not trying to fly in the day of the cruise, I wouldn't worry about times. As for your return flight, if you want to fly out that day, I would definitely would avoid any flights before noon just in case you get stuck in traffic from the port going north. Another factor is that February and March are during winter, when most of our rainfall falls. So if we're having a rainier season, that could be a factor too.

Patty, allow 45 minutes to one hour. Might be quicker but that is what I would plan for.

If you are flying back the day you disembark give yourself a lot of time. I would not book a flight prior to Noon and ideally one around 1:00 PM. Plan to arrive to LAX two hours before your flight as it is one of the busier airports and sometimes there are delays with a ship arriving and getting it cleared thus it's a good idea to plan for an afternoon flight.

Since you mentioned a hotel sounds like you plan to arrive a day or more before your cruise which I would have also recommended.

Keith

We'll be arriving at LAX for our cruise 2/26 - 3-4/11. Need to know how long it takes to get from LAX to Long Beach and back again so I can book flights, hotel and shuttle. Anyone know?

Thanks,

Patty

Just to keep it completely accurate, it is 22.4 miles: