Insect Repellent: Spray or Wipes?

ferfoodle

For those who have taken a Western Caribbean cruise and took insect repellent: Did you prefer the spray or wipes? Did anyone find one was more effective than the other? Please share what you have experienced with keeping those bugs off.

I am thinking the aerosal spray would be a hassle to travel with, but if it works better than the wipes I might just try to pick up some in Florida when we get other last minute items. I am also thinking the wipes would just be so much more convenient to not only travel with, but to take on the excursions. I have never used the wipes before and I just don't want to risk getting bit. Whatever I take will have DEET.

Thanks!

I have never had a bug issue on our 3 cruises to the western Caribbean but. I always carry the wipes. I have them in each car as well and when I use them they work great. Spray seems like it would be a PITA ti travel with, it is bulky and such. You can throw 2 wipes in any bag and it takes up very little room

We traveled to St. Thomas & St. John in July a few years ago for a week and since we were camping at Maho Bay for a couple nights I brought along some insect repellent. I found small 2 ounce NON-AEROSOL spray bottles of repellent at Sports Authority (w/DEET). Worked great. Because we were sleeping in a "tent cabin" the spray was handy because we were able to spray down the linens before we went to sleep.

We never check our bags and abide by the 3 ounce or less rule... the small bottle of repellent didn't take up much room at all.

We'll be cave tubing in Belize on our next cruise and I've heard that the walk before the tubing can be a little "buggy". Someone gave me some repellent wipes which I think I'll try, but I'm going to bring along the spray too just in case.

If skin can handle you have been given the right type..hat is better and more important..and of course the non aerosol spray...