Suggestions for PV for disabled traveler?

azuremonkey

Our stops are CSL and PV. We have an excursion picked out for CSL, but thing seems to be a good fit for me for PV. Most of the excursions are too strenuous for me. If we can't find a good excursion, then we would like to see the city at least. The main problem is that if there's a lot of walking required, I would need to bring my mobility scooter.

I would love to go down to the Malecon and check that area out, but I don't think I can get my scooter into a taxi or on a bus. Is it too far for my group to walk/scooter down to there?

Or can anyone recommend any good excursions in PV that are not strenuous where we can see some of the main sites?

Yes, it would be too far to "walk" your scooter to the Malecon.  From the port to the Malecon is just over 3 miles and the sidewalks, while passable for a scooter, would take some maneuvering at a few places (I walk every inch of these same walkways every day).  I am no expert on scooters and have no clue as to your particular model, but the question would be can you fold it in a way that it would fit into a taxi trunk?   The Malecon is relatively scooter-friendly although there are some shops that might not be accessible.   Our city has installed ramps on most of the sidewalks.

To put things into perspective, from the beginning of the Malecon (across the street from the Rosita Hotel) to the pedestrian bridge that takes you over the Rio Cujale into the Old Town area is about 7/10 of a mile.  Once in the Old Town/Romantic Zone, things become a little more of a challenge for a scooter.  But it is doable...although you would certainly need to make some compromises where you go.

Hank

18 hours ago, azuremonkey said: