Home highlights

swysong77

I'm leaving in 3 weeks and am in desperate need of highlights and really don't want to pay upwards of $100 to go to a salon if I can do this myself at home for less than $20. I've never tried home highlights, but from what I've read, it seems relatively simple. A girlfriend has agreed to help me, but she's never done this sort of thing, either.

Has anyone tried this? Good/bad experiences? I'm thinking of Herbal Essences. I have dark blonde hair and just want to add a little lightness.

Any feedback would be wonderful! :)

I have done my hair every color you could think of from Burgundy to Platinum Blonde, so I have a LOT of experience in this area. And yes, I put my own streaks in, but I have been coloring my hair for almost 35 years. But I am not a beautician, just a different color hair fanatic. Herbal Essence probably won't lighten your hair much. It is made for easy home application and most of those type products do not lighten much. They are not peroxide based and peroxide is the main ingredient of what lightens hair.

If you really want light blonde highlights like you get from a summer in the sun (or a salon), you can use one of the Clairol toning colors (available at the beauty supply) and mix it with good 30 peroxide. You have to be very careful that you are not allergic and do not get it in your eyes, ears, etc. You have to buy a lot of stuff to do it yourself. Toner, peroxide, applicator, brush for the streaks, foil to wrap up the streaks. You will probably spend at least $25.00 for materials.

To save some money, call one of the beauty schools in your area. They usually do the same things as a salon at about 1/2 price. AT least at the school, you won't have orange hair. Yes, it has happened to me.