Has San Juan been removed

I was just looking at our itinerary for the April 26th 2009 13 night on Explorer of the Seas, I see San Juan is gone. I don't think we are missing much, we were getting in late anyway (29th from 4pm-11:30pm). Strange thing is that one excursion still shows for that day as avail.

They are dropping some ports on some cruises to save fuel. On the one hand this is annoying if the port dropped is one you wanted to see. On the other, it might help keep them from having to raise the fuel supplement for a while.

So far, they haven't dropped any from the cruise we're taking in January, but those ports are so close together, Serenade will be puttering anyhow.

I am fairly new to cruising (only two cruises).

I am sailing on the Explorer in Jan 2010, leaving from Bayonne, and noticed that San Juan was dropped from our itinerary too. I understand that RCI reserves the right to change the itinerary, but I have gotten no notification as to why it was dropped. Is this standard?

I am sailing on the Explorer in Jan 2010, leaving from Bayonne, and noticed that San Juan was dropped from our itinerary too. I understand that RCI reserves the right to change the itinerary, but I have gotten no notification as to why it was dropped. Is this standard?

They announced after their second quarter earnings came out that they would be adjusting itineraries in order to save fuel (fuel prices have really been hindering their profits). By cutting ports they are able to travel less distance and at a slower speed (which leads to better fuel efficiency). While cutting ports is definitely upsetting to people who were excited about the ports being cut, is does help keep costs down.