Civitavecchia/Rome and Livorno/Florence DIY Nerves

Midwest_Traveler

We're leaving on the NCL Epic in a little over two weeks and I am very excited. I've read a ton on these boards and appreciate all of the information. I'm also getting a little nervous about some of my plans and would appreciate any/all feedback. As background, I studied abroad in Siena and speak limited (read: bad) Italian. The rest of the group has not been to Italy previously.

I know my plans for the stops in Civitavecchia/Rome and Livorno/Florence are ambitious, but I'm hoping that they're not impossible. I was hoping that anyone with any experience could chime in. Here are my current plans:

Rome:

1. Dock at 6 am - We will leave the ship ASAP (have priority disembark) and, assuming we're in Dock 12B as the Epic has been listed for the June dates, walk to the train station or take the shuttle bus then walk

2. Train to Ostiense (either 7:02-8:07 or 7:44-8:36)

3. Metro to Colosseo and catch 9:30 am tour of Colosseum & Forum

4. Self-guided tour of Rome, ending either at Spanish Steps or St. Peter's

5. Train back to Civitavacchia - Either 4:57-5:39 from Termini or 4:32-5:13 from St. Peter's

6. Walk back to ship

7. All aboard at 6:30

Florence:

1. Dock at 7 am - Leave ship ASAP, Get a taxi (**Any recommendations on this step? Any phone numbers or suggestions to convince them to take us to the train station?**)

2. Train to Florence (either 7:30-9:07, 7:43-9:22, or 8:12-9:32)

3. Catch 9:30am private tour of Accademia/Duomo

4. Lunch & self-guided tour of Florence

5. Train back to Livorno (3:28-4:48 or 4:28-5:48)

6. Preferably a taxi back to ship, but we could do the bus route

7. All aboard at 6:30