I just discovered a new excursion on the island

gtaylor

An island friend commented today on a new excursion being offered on the island.

It caught me by surprise.

There is a company that is apparently offering a tour from the Cruise Facility to Maho beach. It's a boat that takes you there by water, then anchors offshore while you watch the planes fly in and/or swim/snorkel around or to shore.

Obviously I have no experience with this thing that I just discovered, but it looks like Royal Caribbean offers it as one of their St. Maarten excursions,

Music, drinks, snacks, what's not to like?

I did find this quote on their website: "full bar and great food, at modest prices. You can open a tab and pay at your convenience".

Has anyone heard of this or (even better) experienced this?

It's sure to cause some trouble with the taxi drivers, and apparently has already raised concerns on the island.

gary

carnival has it also for my cruise in october. Its called Ultra Hi-Speed Glass Bottom Boat, Swim & Beach. $79/adults, $69/kids 2 1/2 hours. We are already booked on Random Winds because we like to go outside of the cruise ship but for those who are more comfortable with ship excursions, it has very good reviews.

I've seen this new excursion quite a few months ago on Royal Caribbean's Cruise Planner. We enjoy boat rides and will definitely try this tour on one of our future cruises when we're in port for a shorter period of time. We like to make the most of our time in St. Maarten and 3 1/2 hours for an excursion on one of our favorite islands is just not enough time, especially when we're in port for 10 or 11 hours. Wishing the excursion was longer, but we will give it a try in the future.

IMO, I don't think the taxi drivers have to worry much as some people want to spend hours at Maho and $69 pp for Royal's 3 1/2 hour tour is not cheap where as a taxi or a private excursion would be a better deal in St. Maarten.