June 2017 Greece cruise: RCI from Rome or NCL from Venice?

cruisingattitude

I learned quite a bit in planning my first ever cruise to Alaska, but it appears that I am still a novice when it comes to other destinations. So, I hope you don't mind my posting in this forum. :)

I am now planning a 7-night cruise to Greece in June 2017, and in fact just last night made a reservation on RCI Jewel of the Seas from Rome. The deal for three balcony cabins (for a party of four adults and two children) was quite good (low $6K total), so I grabbed the deal.

Now, once I started to think about shore excursions, I came to realize that I am not really excited about two of the four ports, Mykonos and Katakolon (Olympia), while I want to visit the other two, Athens and Santorini.

Upon reading more here, I got the sense that a cruise from Venice is also quite good, and my search found that NCL Star has a 7-night cruise from Venice. The itinerary looks quite appealing, as it has two ports (Dubrovnik and Ravenna) that I'd like to visit, let alone Athens and Katakolon.

The problems are these.

1. NCL Star doesn't appear to be as nice as RCL Jewel of the Seas.

2. NCL Star is also substantially more expensive (almost $10K for three balcony cabins) than RCL, and because of the price, we may need to scale down to interior or ocenview cabins.

What would you do if you're in my shoes?

Thanks for reading.

Are you getting the unlimted beverage package included with RCL because booking now you'll get that on NCL. Also check to see if the gratuities are included for NCL as they are offering that as a special as well. It might help to work out what is included/not included on both lines and then figure out the total costs/savings. There might also be a 3-8 passenger sails free promo going on as well.