Posted August 20th, 2013, 05:06 PM
Sadly I am not exaggerating even in the slightest.
I could have typed a few dozen more goofy "Vegetarian" varieties we encounter every week of the year, but I ran out of time.
Most of the so-called "Vegetarians" I meet every week on ships have all sorts of silly ideas and excuses about what is animal and what is vegetable.
So they call themselves Lacto-vegetarians, Ovo-vegetarians, or Pescatarian-vegetarians or some other ridiculous name. And in the end, many of them are just playing with us so they can get a bit of extra attention. Offer them a free steak or a free lobster tail and you need to jump out of the way to avoid being bitten.
As I posted earlier, if you show up on a ship, claiming to be a vegetarian, the staff will probably not take you entirely seriously unless you can convince them you are not just pretending to be on a reality TV show.
I don't see the terms as being "goofy" at all, and find it rather offensive that you would demean someone for their choices in the foods they eat--keeping in mind that some of these diets are dictated by health concerns.
Personally I find it appalling that dietary requirements aren't taken seriously. I have multiple food allergies, and if they aren't taken seriously, I could die. That would make my husband a very wealthy man after he got the lawsuit settlement. I take all reasonable precautions--notify the line in advance, notify my waiter, have allergy cards in a variety of languages, speak to the Maitre De and/or chef directly, and err on the side of caution--if I suspect something isn't going to be safe to eat, I won't take the word of a server who might not have the best comprehension of English, and just don't eat it. To think that you and your employer/coworkers are so dismissive makes me cringe to put it mildly.
By the way, because you obviously don't have a good understanding:
Vegan eats NO animal flesh or by-products, including honey and gelatin.
Ovo-lacto vegetarian eats by products (eggs, dairy, honey, etc.), but no flesh.
Lacto vegetarian won't eat eggs or (usually) gelatin, but will consume milk based products and usually honey.
The following are not vegetarians, and I've never met one who claimed to be:
A pescatarian eats fish but not animal flesh. Most pescatarians will eat eggs and dairy as well as honey, but not gelatin.
A stricter version of pescatarian doesn't really have a name that I've ever found, but is described as eating nothing with eyes. So they will usually eat ovo-lacto vegetarian but add mollusks although no fish or other seafood or gelatin.
Pollotarians eat no mammal flesh but will eat chicken/poultry--not a mammal.
August 2002--Disney Magic Eastern Caribbean
October 2005--RCCL Mariner Western Caribbean
October 2011--Disney Dream Bahamas
June 2012--Windstar Wind Surf Back-To-Back, Rome to Venice to Athens
April 2014--Paul Gauguin to French Polynesia
Three weeks in Europe (two on a ship) with a 20" roll aboard and a tote bag--packing list here.
My all in a 20" wheeled bag for a warm weather cruise packing list here
20" rolling bag packing list for two weeks in a cool/cold climate here.