Special Occasion-what to expect?

Aquarian

I noticed on the cruise personalizer that I could note that we were celebrating a special occasion on our upcoming cruise which in my case would be a possible retirement (not written in stone at the moment). If I decide to retire and select that option, it asks which evening we want to celebrate. First of all, what would the celebration consist of and second, any suggestions on when the best night of the cruise would be to celebrate? I have no prior experience with special occasions onboard so I'm not sure what to expect.

Typically special occasions are marked by balloons over the cabin door. Last Princess cruise we got a special sign on our door as well. You will also receive a card delivered to your cabin that you can hand to your waitstaff on the evening you choose to celebrate. They will bring you a special cake and sometimes sing if appropriate, such as for a birthday. It is up to you what night you choose to celebrate as you can use the card any evening.

Sometimes the info on the Personalizer doesn't get passed along. Last year we sailed over my birthday and I was a little disappointed that there were no balloons on our door. Not that big of a deal but you may want to tell your steward what day it is.

The cake is about 4" but it's good. I hate having the waiters (a group from tables around you) sing to me. If I see them gathering near our table, I tell them "no, don't sing" They probably are just as glad not to have to. They have to stop what they are doing to come over and sing.

We never bother telling them anything about a birthday or anniversary but did so for our next cruise & they just sent me an email inviting me to spend more money on Spa services & dinners in my cabin with flowers, wine, etc. :D

Other than the balloons on your door & singing at you table with a little cake, they don't do much. ;)